3211 Bramer Drive, Raleigh, NC 27604 // Phone: (919) 850-9960 Fax: (919) 850-9961

March 14, 2017

We all love Torchlight Academy. we appreciate all they are doing for the school and the community. My children would never consider attending another school. We have 12 more years there and we will be sad to leave because they come are about us and want my children succeed.

C. Boynton

March 14, 2017

I am thankful that my children are able to attend Torchlight Academy because they do so much for the community. I love the educational field trips that they take the children on. I hope Torchlight is always here. The teachers are great. You can always speak with the Principal, Dr. Cynthia McQueen, who is concerned about our children. They are very dedicated.

L. Uben

February 10, 2016

When I moved here from Canada; I had no family here to rely on for support but the staff at Torchlight Academy. Dr. McQueen is an amazing woman. She truly cares about the community and her students. She has helped me and my family in so many ways, I can not explain. Torchlight Academy is a great Charter School, and any parent should be proud to send their child there.

Angela J.

February 05, 2016

With the speech therapy my son has been receiving since he was a toddler, I had to make sure I placed him in a facility that would be able to address this issue as well as his educational needs. I am very please with Torchlight Academy and wish more public schools could provide the same academic services for other young children. As my husband and I are the type of parents to stay involved in every aspect of our children’s lives, enrolling my son in the right school was very important. Thank you Torchlight!

M. F. Hill

February 05, 2016

I like torchlight Academy because not only are my children learning, but because the Principal and teachers care a great deal. You can talk with both the Principal and teachers even without making an appointment. They are fair and reasonable. I also love the drilling the children do and the free tutoring Torchlight provides.

K. Jenkins

October 29, 2016

My son has the best teacher ever. He has a male teacher (Mr. Andrews) and he has regular communication with my husband and I. I have seen a great deal of improvement in his behavior and his academics in just a few months. He is like a magician. If he could be cloned, there should be one of him in each school.

A parent

November 19, 2012

I would recommend Torchlight Academy to any parent that cares about the well being of their child’s future. Not only does the school offer excellent core academics but they also offer a lot of extra classes; Chinese, Spanish, Martial Arts, Physical Education, Music and even Art! I am so happy that my child is getting a well-rounded.

A parent

December 17, 2010

I have a daughter in kindergaten(Ms Ferguson’s class)i must say i have seen great impovement since she started.I am greatly impressed with what the school is doing !She is disciplined,doing well academically and her communication skills excellent!!!GOOD JOB TORCHLIGHT!!!!!!!

A parent

July 23, 2009

This school focus on more than education. Morals, Ethics,Respect, and understanding of the world. The whole school cares.

A parent

February 18, 2009

Torchlight Academy is a school that has educated our youth for the past 10 years, turning out well educated and mannered young boys and girls not only for the present but for the future. i have seen the excitement on my children faces when they wake up to go to school. torchlight is very family orientated and parent involved, the teachers want to help the children and has went out of their way in helping them. i would recommend torchlight to any mother who wants her child to have bright future and a made up mind, because as we know nothing is more powerful than a made up mind.

A parent

March 14, 2017

It is with great pleasure to speak on behalf of Torchlight Academy as a concerned and involved parent. with all of the wonderful aspects of Torchlight Academy, it is had to narrow the choices down to one aspect. There are few places I would send my precious cargo (CHILDREN) in Raleigh, NC school. After reviewing the choices available to our family of five, my husband and I were drawn to Torchlight Academy because of the wonderful learning environment it affords all of it children. The learning environment at Torchlight Academy encompasses children from diverse backgrounds, the cultural aspect in its children, the exclusivity, the compassion of the teachers and the family atmosphere. I am proud to say that our children attend such a wonderful school and are pleased with the results we see in our children and others every single day. I can not say enough about this school and will close by saying that Torchlight Academy offers what many do not; a wonderful learning environment for Raleigh’s children with a passion to bring out every child’s unique potential.

Chives-Davis Family

May 1, 2014

I moved to Raleigh, N.Carolina in 2012. My daughter s primary school was E Garner Elementary. After touring the school and meeting staff I decided that was not the school for her. I did research and came across Torchlight Academy. After reading reviews, I was very skeptical. The reviews consisted of 1. My child does not get enough to eat. 2. My child is being verbally abused. 3. The teacher does not communicate with me. As a well-educated person I thought 1. If my child is not getting enough to eat, I ll pack her lunch. 2. In todays world almost everyone thinks discipline is abuse. 3. If my child’s teacher does not communicate w/ me, I will schedule a parent/teacher conference. My daughter was enrolled into Torchlight Academy 2013-14 school year. Our experience w/ Torchlight has been phenomenal. Her teacher is great! My daughter s teacher and I communicate w/ one another on a regular basis regarding my child’s education. The curriculum plan is effective and efficient. As far as the schools discipline policy goes, I LOVE it. Discipline is crucial for a child’s physical/mental health. A child must know that school is a place to learn and develop life skills.

H.Hawthorne

March 15, 2017

I was asked to write down the reasons that I would like for my son to transfer from his current school to Torchlight Academy. Well, there are numerous reasons. My son, Kendai is ADHA with impulse behavior, meaning that he often acts out without thinking about the correct choices and/or the consequences. He is also very, very active. Although he takes medication, it takes a lot to get him to focus on one task. After you finally get him focused on that task, it’s usually almost time to start another. So then he becomes emotional because he is not able to finish or complete his task as the other students have. Calming him down from not being his task and explaining to him why he was not able to finish and why the class must move on and stay on schedule takes more time. Than after you get him to stop crying or whining about that you have to repeat the cycle of getting him focused on the next task and the cycle continues. This is a normal day at school, which is obviously draining to one teacher, who has to constantly cater to his special needs while teaching a class with 18 other student. Due to this manner, when the teacher feels that the rest of the class cannot focus or continue to learn due to his behavior, she sends him to the office. He has probably spent more time in the office than all of the other children in the entire school combined, not jokingly. He usually spends around 2-3 hours a day in the office or with the guidance counselor. Kendal was recently suspended from school. I feel that he needs a smaller class room setting, clear and firm guidance and more male influences in his life. Kendal’s father and I are not together so he does not have a male role model on a daily basis. As a working single mother and student, it is hard to me to take him to visit other males in our family. I feel that Kendal is very smart, well-spoken and he know right from wrong. Kendal is spoiled and can be manipulative if you give in to him. He does cry and whine excessively for a child his age, but I think if in the right environment it can be contained. I do not believe in physical discipline but am a firm believer in discipline him in other ways that I feel are more effective. That is pretty much the overview of Kendal and I. I would appreciate if you could reply back and let me know you think that my son and I would benefit from your program. Thank you in advance for your time and cooperation.

A. Kee